• Released
  • October 8, 2016
  • (Start Time: 12:00PM ET / 11:00AM CT / 10:00AM MT / 9:00AM PT / 12:00PM AK & HI)
  • 5 hr 15 min
  • Concert/Special Events
The Metropolitan Opera: Tristan und Isolde Synopsis
The Met: Live in HD 2016-17 season kicks off with a broadcast of Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde, presented live in select cinemas nationwide on Saturday, October 8.

Movie Reviews

Disappointing Tristan

By demsabrd
The transposition of the settings from the traditional Mediaeval period to the present day just doesn’t work. The dissonances were repeated. Tristan asking how he can leave the tiller and still get...

Mixed feelngs

By mblanton43
I loved the music, the singers and conductor. I hated the settings and the darkness. Setting it in modern times does not work when dealing with potions. Ridiculous! Most of the time, the...

Metropolitan Opera: Tristan und Isolde

By mkwhelan
After 50 years of attending operas live at the Met this was my first HDTV experience and it was a good one. The sound system in the theater was very good and the large screen with close-ups added a...

Tristan and Isolde

By dhammatt
I have long been a big fan of the Met HD broadcasts, but this one was a disappointment. This production does not lend itself to viewing on a movie screen, as the screen is frequently at least 75%...


By dgill1092016140
A mixed review of the performance of TRISTAN und ISOLDE: 1. THEATRE - The AMC 14 HD Theatre in Columbia Excellent. Clean, SUPERB audio system, SUPERB projection Compared to...


By lentot
An amazing 5 hours and 15 minutes of opera experience in a movie theater! The images on the screen was fantastic, filled with superlative voices....

Opera lover

By tigeress7
I am a person who loves the opera, and I am familiar with the story of Tristan and Isolde. So seeing this performance in the back drop of a war time period piece was disheartening. I have never heard...

it was perfect

By rrmillner
the production was ideal in every way. This was our first opera on screen. The live performance of Tristan und Isolde helped provide some of the excitement of actually attending the performance....

Tristan and Isolde

By francesnorris1
Absolutely Stunning. Second Act was a little slow but the third act aria was worth it....

Isolde Amazing

By The Accelerator Coach
Despite the long intermissions (the first one could have been handled better with pre-recorded clips instead of watching sets move...) the five hours passed quickly. Staging was a bit static in Act 2,...

More Info

For All shows are appropriate for all audiences