NoahMovie Reviews


  • So-so Based on 15,805 reviews
    Breakdown:
  • Must Go!
    Written March 30, 2014

    Stunning film. Ignore the naysayers.

    by Dunnii

    Those that hate this film and are yelling for you not to go are complaining because of their need for a literal interpretation of a story that is very short in Genesis.

    This is stunning. The core themes of faith, hope, sin, and God's will is in very much in tact. Noah's actions in the second half mirror Abraham. This film is based on many religious texts -- Hebrew, Sumerian. It is an intelligent look at a story that has been told by many generations. It is respectful. Don't let others tell you otherwise. They have their religious agenda.

    As far as a film goes, it is exciting, entertaining and full of great performances, especially Russell Crowe's. It is a labor of love for the director and it is obviously made for a modern audience.
    There are those that complain "God" is not in the film. This is the silliest argument of all. The word is mentioned and God is prevalent throughout the film. It is more in keeping with the idea that God speaks to us quietly, in dreams or visions.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Go
    Written March 31, 2014

    Very loosely based on the bible

    by delpbug

    I really like this movie. It was visually stimulating but clearly didn't follow the bible. In it's defense, it wasn't promoted to be biblical accurate, so I wasn't let down. It was a good movie to take my boyfriend to as it had the "manly" feel that he likes, and the excellent acting and cinematography that I like.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Oh No!
    Written March 28, 2014

    Noah

    by alexa18

    Hollywood is trying to improve on a dynamic story from the Bible. Instead, "Noah" the movie, is replete with bizarre transformer/rock-like creatures (fallen angels?!!), an ancient new-age y Methuselah, and 3 youthful sons with only one (barren) girl. Finally, Noah (Crowe) is depicted as a surly, confused, heartless man intent on saving the creatures of the earth and letting the human race die out.

    • 6 out of 7 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Go
    Written March 30, 2014

    IT'S JUST A MOVIE AND A GOOD ONE !

    by POLLACK

    WHAT'S ALL THE PROBLEM. I'M A RELIGIOUS GUY. WHY TAKE IT ALL SO SERIOUS . THIS WAS A JUST MOVIE AND IT WAS A GOOD ONE. LOTS OF ACTION. GREAT CINEMATOGRAPHY. GREAT SPECIAL EFFECTS. VERY GOOD ACTING.

    POLLACK

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 29, 2014

    Noah

    I found this movie to be entirely entertaining, beautifully done, although a somewhat strange interpretation of the story of Noah. I left feeling somehow uplifted, however. Russell Crowe was sublime. Jennifer Conolley's performance was oscar worthy. It is a great family movie.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Go
    Written April 5, 2014

    Good movie!

    I didn't think I was going to like this movie, but I was pleasantly surprised. It had a great cast and great acting. There was a lot of extra events added to the story, but it was tastefully done. It had its slow moments, and there isn't as much action as you would expect, given the previews. But, Russell Crowe displayed wonderful acting, very believable.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Go
    Written March 30, 2014

    Great and entertaining, but long.

    by

    Great movie but be warned, it is a bit graphic. It was a long movie with a, for the most part, unpredictable plot that was certainly entertaining. Some religious folks might be upset with some of the religious fiction that the writers added but I didn't mind it and thought it added to the plot well. If gore doesn't bother you and you're not overly critical of religiously based stories adapted for entertainment then give Noah a shot.

    Definitely not a movie for a younger audience.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Oh No!
    Written March 29, 2014

    Noah meets lord of the rings

    This movie is so awful. just do yourself a favor and give your $10 to a stranger. You'll at least leave feeling good and it will save your eyes from you wanting to poke them out.

    • 6 out of 7 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 31, 2014

    Definitely worth seeing.

    by WiFi

    Whether you are a believer in God, Jesus, or nothing at all the story line alone is worth seeing. If you ARE a believer then I suggest doing yourself a favor and taking the 15 minutes it takes to read the actual scripture. It's very interesting to see how "holes" in the scripture are filled with what is seen in the film.

    Bottom line? Go See it. It's a great time no matter what you believe in.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 30, 2014

    Great story line, Very creative mix of 2 Gospels.

    I loved this movie, Very creative mix of 2 Gospels, The Holy Bible account, and the Lost Gospel of the book of Enoc. Then u add the Hollywood theatrics, and you got a great and creative story line of what it MIGHT of been like back in the day. No it don't follow the Holy bible version of the story. But the messages in the move are mirror images. This Christian went to be entertained, and found the movie to be just that. ENERTAINMENT.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Go
    Written April 5, 2014

    It is a good movie that will give you a lot to talk about with your friends!

    by titox

    Instead of obstructing and preventing others to hear the story of the flood with our NEGATIVE reviews, we should use this movie as a starting point to share about the God?s love for mankind. Certainly this movie isn?t word by word from the Bible. It is sad that Hollywood actually CHANGED a lot of facts just for the sake of entertainment, but God allowed it to happen for a reason. If you have friends and family who are not Christians, you need to see this movie so you can tell them the true story of the flood. The director actually makes a point about God?s grace and his love for mankind, but it leaves a twisted view about God. This causes many people to read the Bible by themselves and to ask questions to others. I bet many of you watch other movies for the sake of entertainment ?and this one is also well made- so, take your time, watch it and I am sure you?ll have great influence on your friends when you talk about it!

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Go
    Written April 4, 2014

    NOAH

    by

    First let me say that this film doesn't follow the Biblical story of Noah and the Ark. It takes the concept and then writes a script around that story in a Hollywood commercial way. If you watch this film and forget all about the Bible story it is very good. The acting by all major stars is fantastic. I thought that the special effects and CGI were great. The set designs and cinematography are also incredible. I had heard so much about how bad this film is that I almost didn't go to see it. I am glad I did because it is a good movie from start to finish. AGAIN; you have to forget about the Bible Noah and view it as if you had never heard about the Bible Noah. Even though it's a two and half hour movie the time flies by because you do get caught up in the film. I highly recommend this film for the entire family.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 31, 2014

    A Visionary & Artistic movie. Leave preconceived notions at the door.

    by

    This movie is not a bible study, and if you were expecting a church sermon then a movie theater is obviously the wrong place to go. Taken for what this movie actually is, it's hard to find fault with this well acted and executed piece of artistic entertainment. I thoroughly enjoyed Aronofsky's visionary movie. If some audience members were less narrow minded, I'm sure they would enjoy this movie too.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 29, 2014

    Real life Noah

    Saw a video from the directors about their decisions, very informative on how they had to adapt the short and limited biblical story to fit the big screen. The best thing about this movie is its more true to life than feel good story you may have been told in sunday school or VBS. The story of Noah is a dark story! in sunday school it's made kid friendly and this movie takes it back to its roots where the entire world was wicked (except noah). The biggest problem, in my opinion, is to many people want the feel good story and/or are expecting something strictly biblical and neither of those are a reality when taking this story, in it's dark reality, to the big screen.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Oh No!
    Written March 28, 2014

    Noah

    by klwendt

    I can't remember when I've been more disappointed in a movie. Hollywood usually has a few problems with sticking to the integrity of the original story, but this one beats all! There are very few similarities with the bible story. It's pretty ludicrous, actually. From lava rock "fallen angels" who help build the ark to rewriting God's intention to save the animals only and kill even Noah and his family, ending the Human Race it's really ridiculous. There was a rainbow at the end, however. That was nice. And the pizza from the concession stand was good. Save your money. Read the book instead.

    • 6 out of 7 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No

Noah Featured Trailers + Video Clips

Exclusive Features

Movies We're Looking Forward to in 2014 Movies We're Looking Forward to in 2014 Here's a few up-and-coming movies we can't wait to see in 2014.