DivergentMovie Reviews


  • Go Based on 22,804 reviews
    Breakdown:
  • Must Go!
    Written March 25, 2014

    Divergent is life Divergent is life Divergent is life Divergent is life <3

    I'm 13. I've read the whole Divergent series and I'm a HUGE fan! I'm obsessed with it it's literally my life. My bestie Kenzie and I went to see the movie. I've been trying to get her to read the books and she refused because she thought it was boring. But when we saw the movie she loved it and she wants to read the books now!!! I will say, the books were way better and I was a little disappointed in the movie. They left way too much out. But all the actors were amazing and Shai and Theo are perf!! I'm so excited for Insurgent and I'm happy because I heard they're putting Uriah in!!! I was so upset they left Uriah out of Divergent but at least they're putting him in Insurgent!! They left a lot of characters out ugh but they will hopefully all be in Insurgent. Anyways it was amazing but not as good as the books. I recommend reading the books first.

    • 9 out of 13 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 21, 2014

    Need to See Again.

    I went in with low expectations because I read critic reviews, but this movie was amazing. It followed the book so well. The directing and acting were top notch. The only criticism I have would be the editing. The beginning of the movie was a little slow due to one or two unnecessary scenes. Otherwise it was spectacular. Theo James and Shailene Woodley were perfect for the parts, and Kate Winslet portrayed Jeanine perfectly. I give it a 9/10.

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Go
    Written April 2, 2014

    Good Movie

    by drniren

    It is a good movie overall. A lot of people read the book before seeing such movies, which helps them to understand the concept, but I am not a book reader. The movie still brings out everything we need to know, it is very detailed and acting is good. Overall a good movie

    • 5 out of 5 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 27, 2014

    Great storyline, good rendition of the book!

    I was thoroughly entertained by Divergent. The film was a great adaptation of the book. The characters were strong, I am SO excited for the next film in the series!!

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written April 4, 2014

    Awesome for Sci-fi Dystopian Lovers!!

    by meicyii

    First off, I LOVED this movie. I don't understand the negative ratings. I guess some people don't like the YA genre.
    Second, I have never read the book (And don't think I ever will, because Roth's writing style is not for me. That is not to say the book isn't great. I'm sure it's awesome!) so I am not a Divergent fangirl, though this movie might turn me into one.
    Third, if you are a sci-fi dystopian lover, and you are a young adult like me, WATCH. THIS.
    Now let me explain why I adored this movie and long to watch it again and again...

    1. Gorgeous setting. Chicago dystopia? Yes please!
    2. The actors are talented and gorgeous (cough Four cough).
    3. The plot is riveting and very entertaining. I usually need to pee halfway through movies over 2 hours but I didn't even feel it with this one, I was so engaged!
    4. The original score is so sweet to the ears. If you love dystopian/sci-fi scores this score is guaranteed to hit the spot.
    5. Breathtaking scenes.

    Again: Watch! This!

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 22, 2014

    Not a chick flick

    by ldsmom

    Went to see this with my husband, who thought he was being duped into seeing a chick flick. Happy to report he was pleasantly surprised! We both felt the cast, the amount of action, and the plot development were all great! We can't wait for the next movie in the sequence!

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 21, 2014

    Good film

    I came into this thinking this would not be a very good film, but I was pleasantly surprised. My daughter loved it, of course having read all the books (she would tell me what would happen **before** it happened on the screen). This was much better than the Hunger Games as I'm actually looking forward to the next films in the series.

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • No
    Written March 25, 2014

    Low-budget effects; inconsistent post-apocalyptic vision; too long

    This movies obviously had a limited budget for effects. Either that, or the future tech was pretty unimaginative.

    The post-apocalyptic vision was inconsistent and failed to make any sense. For instance, "human nature" is painted as something to fight against by the bad guys, and their ultimate goal is apparently to destroy 1/5 of the population which is dedicated to the suppression of the vices of human nature. What?

    The heroes in this 2 hour 20 minute long meandering story about a young woman's boot camp in a fascist police state force seem to be intent on hiding their own differences from the rest of society except for the suppressed Abdication.

    This movie attempts to emphasize the importance of the triumph of diversity within the individual and within society in the midst of a fascist totalitarian coup. But the true nature of the power of the individual in any society is the actualization of every member. This movie has only a handful of heroes saving passive monks.

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Go
    Written March 23, 2014

    A Typical Movie Adaptation

    I read the book the day before going to see the movie, so it was fresh. As per typical books to movie formula they change a few pieces to make it more movie like, with results movie watchers would expect. The book is very emotional and very focused on how the characters feel as they're basically broken down repeatedly physically and mentally throughout the book, but the movie lacks a lot of that emotion that helps tie you to a character. It wasn't a bad adaptation, but it does lack some of the more human elements from the novel.

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 31, 2014

    Amazing

    The movie in my mind was completely different than the trailer and it made it that much better. I didn't read the book, so I don't know how similar it is, but having not read it, the movie itself was amazing!

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 23, 2014

    Almost like the book...

    I really liked the film. I went in knowing that they would change the book for the movie, because they always do. And, yes, a few parts were changed or combined and many details were left out. Overall, though it was a decent action film with a good storyline. I think this would be good for teens and adults. My husband has not ready the books and did not want to go with me. He ended up liking it enough to want to read the books to find out what happens next.

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 22, 2014

    Great movie even though slight variance from the book!

    by jsousaj

    The movie is worth the go but if you are like my family, we expect the movies to BE the books so you might be a little disappointed.

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 23, 2014

    It is not Hunger Games

    The inevitable comparisons of this movie to the Hunger Games franchise are unavoidable. I feel the movie was great in it's own right. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and feel the director infused the movie with plenty of symbols of the success and failure of a post apocalyptic society. The five faction system and the power struggles within were masterfully portrayed by the talented cast. The young actress, Shailene Woodley, is a strong talent as she displayed in "The Descendants". I very much enjoyed her on screen chemistry with male lead, Theo James. I think the film will become a franchise with future installments planned. I will definitely be going to see them!

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • Must Go!
    Written March 21, 2014

    A Must-See Dystopian

    by llt806

    Fans of Veronica Roth's popular YA dystopian trilogy will be thrilled to know the movie version of her first book is excellent. I've read the book and found the film script to be faithful to the original material, I just noticed minor changes here and there.

    "There's a word for people like me. I'm Divergent." I must applaud the strength and talent of actress Shailene Woodley. She truly brings Tris to life with such subtle skill and powerful touches. She is wonderful displaying the vulnerability of the innocent Tris as she learns to become one of the Dauntless. Speaking of the cool faction, I wasn't on the bandwagon for Theo James as Four. I am now. He became Four from his very first look as Tris bounces on the netting as she makes her first big jump into her new life. I enjoyed watching the rest of the cast as well, in particular Ashley Judd and Tony Goldwyn as Tris' parents and Kate Winslet as the evil Jeanine.

    Katniss, watch out for Tris. Divergent is engrossing.

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No
  • So-so
    Written March 23, 2014

    Just ok...

    Definitely not as riveting as the book! I understand the need to leave out some details and make changes. You do have to condense it to a 2+ hour timeframe after all. However, I felt that the movie lacked the intense emotional wallop of the book....whether that be negative emotions (the absolute disdain between Four and Eric) or positive emotions (strong connection between Four and Tris, Christina & Will, etc...). And, it left out key characters and events. Well, at least characters who BECOME key later. And, I think the movie was left so that if they wanted to do the sequels, even more deviation from the book will be necessary. It was a decent movie overall, but not what I had hoped for :(

    • 4 out of 4 found this review helpful.
    • Was this helpful to you? 
    • Yes
    • No

Exclusive Features

Blog Post Kate Winslet Explains Why Being 'Divergent' Is So Dangerous. Kate Winslet explains the deadly concept that is being "divergent."